top of page
James Spivey, Mark Hassell and Brian Agn

Scholarship Programs

Scholarship Programs: Text

Meaningful Work. Unforgettable Impact.

Bro. Michael Muchioki Memorial Scholarship

This award will be given in honor of our deceased brother who was initiated into Iota Rho Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.  This scholarship will be awarded to an undergraduate brother in a chapter being supervised by Alpha Alpha Lambda (AAL). There are presently three undergraduate chapters (Iota Rho, Phi Eta & Phi Theta) that meet this criteria.  

This will be a competitive scholarship with applicants required to complete an essay, secure recommendations and be required to have a 3.0/4.0 GPA or the equivalent among the requirements. Brothers will be allowed to win the award twice. The award is expected to be given annually in the amount of $500, while funds are available.


Marion B. Frederick Scholarship

This $2,000 scholarship is a competitive scholarship for male, graduating high school seniors from an Essex County, NJ high school who will be attending an accredited 4-year college and/or university.   

Application Window: Opens February 15, 20, 2023


Sydney Johnson and
Arthur Williams Scholarships

These $500.00 scholarships are given to two (2) individuals who are majoring in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math heading to a 4-year accredited college or university with at least a 3.0 GPA.

This award is given as part of Essex County College’s Awards program in the spring. Individuals must submit applications through ECC's Division of Student Affairs.

James Spivey.jpg
Scholarship Programs: What We Do
bottom of page